Blue Diamond

Blue Diamond

Written by Tanya Singh

 

The woman was knitting in the closed obscurity,

She asked me to ‘sink a little closer to the bottom’,

And the saturated ink hit me before I turned pale,

And we were far from reaching the blue diamond,

Didn’t we see the profanity we carried to our graves,”

 

I bit my lip, and

I jumped into the ocean,

But there was no water,

 

And I was all the more thirsty,

So, we climbed into our graves.

 

The blue diamond had long since expired.

We did not write the letter.

 

-Originally Published at Voices of Youth (http://www.voicesofyouth.org/en/posts/blue-diamond)

 

Leave a Reply

